Listen and Hear Me

How do you know when it’s all worthwhile? How do you know that everything you’ve put forth is right? How do you know when you’ll be hurt, or when you’ll be healed? How do you know what step to take next? Will it be for you, or for the collective, or some other incomprehensible congress? How do you know…?

Sitting – soaking – sinking into my thoughts; my insecurities, my fears. Immobilized by my own mind, though my body has already claimed this control, I feel lost and don’t know how to fix this; this feeling of gross uncertainty. I seek council, guidance, and support.

‘Help me, God,’ runs unbroken through my mind – thoughts of desperation. I reach out and feel nothing; out again, feeling walled. I retract my reach and wrap around to find comfort in myself – I will listen.

We call unceasing talk a “broken record.” But in saying this, do we in fact break the record? For though we communicate through sight, sound, body, and pen, it is the security of being heard – listened to and understood – through which we know our wondering can be finite; and if broken prematurely by impatient annoyance, risky leaps of a decisive nature are taken; some vital, some not. So listen and hear me; and I will do the same.

2 thoughts on “Listen and Hear Me

  1. Hello, my mother has health problems and she found herself asking god- “why me? Why now? And why can’t you fix this?”. She and I both realized in our personal beliefs that the answers we want right now are not the ones we need. Life has a funny yet, odd way of having everything connect. It’s hard now, and it will be hard, but you have such a good introspection on your feelings that if anything and everything that comes out of this- it’s your personal strength that shines through.

    I hope you and I know you can make it through. I also really respect how raw and vulnerable you are about things- that takes bravery and how you are able to turn something you thought that could hold you back into something more uplifting. All the best and great post.

    Sam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry to hear about your mother. I wish the best for her in her situation and you as well; as health matters impact more than the person. You are strong for being a support for her. It is these moments that we all are forced to reflect and focus on making better for ourselves; you’ve put it incredibly well.
      Thank you so much for reading and commenting with such kind and encouraging words. I am doing my best, though sometimes I wish I could do more, but it does come with time and I’m learning something about myself and life every day.
      It means a lot that you read my post. All the best to you and I look forward to your next post 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

